• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

“Cheezey” Veggie Bake

I’ve been away from the blogosphere for so long now!  It feels strange to participate again…almost like I’m sharing my diary, which I guess essentially is what a blog can be.  Well, I haven’t been absent in terms of reading foodie blogs.   In fact today’s post is a recipe I made from one of my new raw food-focused, but always vegan bloggies, Averie, from loveveggiesandyoga.com.  This woman is amazing!  She works full time, is a mom of a young (adorable!) girl, Skylar, a wife, a vegan chef, and a bloggie who updates almost every day, sometimes twice!  I heart Averie!

This recipe is not raw, however, since the new year (I know, it’s March, already!), I’ve had a really tough time keeping to a raw diet.  Part of it is that I no longer work at Cousin’s IV.  Since I’m going to school full time now (working towards a Master’s in Nutritional Sciences, or maybe a PhD–think it’d be fun to have the LT call me “Doctor”!), my schedule has been really off: classes break, study, work out, drive home, back to school for another class, grocery shop, etc.  It’s just been really off.  Combine that with the fact that we just moved into a new place, I’ve been eating VERY badly.  Never un-veg, and not really un-vegan thanks to my lactose intolerance, but certainly not focusing on raw.

And I (and the world) can see the effects in my skin, which suddenly looks like I’m a sophomore in high school again.  I’ve been drinking almost daily Starbucks soy hot chocolates, which I know contain a ton of sugar and not-good-for-me ingredients.  But now Lent has begun and I’ve given them up, so I’m taking green smoothies every morning.  AND I’m heading back home this weekend to visit the fam; my little bro is up from Texas.  Maureen, my raw food sister and I have both decided that we are implementing a “Green Weekend” and planning on plenty of green lemonades (thank you Natalia Rose), greeen smoothies, and raw foods.  In fact, over the past 3 days, I’ve taken green smoothies in the morning and eaten a big old salad for lunch, and already my skin (and energy!) is reflecting the change.  Seriously, raw foods, and greens in particular are A-MAZ-ING!

So in an effort to please the LT and keep up the good vegan work at nighttime, I turned to my new ‘friend’ Averie and made this recipe: Cheezey Veggie Bake.

 

Cheezy Vegetable Bake (Vegan and Gluten Free as long as the canned soup you use is)
2 Potatoes, Diced (dice them small so they cook properly.  Or, mix and match rice, quinoa, lentils, bulger, barley, etc rather than using all potatoes )
1/2 c Carrots, Diced
1/2 c Broccoli/Cauliflower Mixture (or any other veggies you want to use up; zucchini, Brussels sprouts, turnips, parsnips, squash.  Throw it in)
1 Can Soup (any vegetable soup, Cream of Mushroom, noodle soup, whatever you have)
1/2 c Water
1 Tbsp Mrs. Dash Seasoning Blend
1/3 c Nutritional Yeast (Nooch), Sprinkled (this will not make or break the recipe if you don’t have it, but then use other cheese/cheeze)

Optional: Drizzle the whole thing with 2 Tbsp EVOO before baking
Optional: Add in 1 can of beans of your choice (I didn’t add beans because the soup I used had some beans in it and Scott doesn’t love beans)

Directions
Layer everything into a foil-lined or sprayed 9×13 pan in the order listed.  i.e. lay in the potatoes, then carrots, other veggies, pour over the soup and water, add the seasonings.

Bake at 400F for approximately 50-60 minutes, or until browned.
Optional but recommended thus Cheezy Bake: After about 35-40 minutes, add 1/4 to 1 c shredded or diced ‘cheeze‘ (I used the Daiya brand I picked up at WFM) to the top and continue to bake for another 15-20 minutes or until brown.

 

 

My Ingredients

 

 

Make sure to cut those potatoes small enough to cook evenly!

 

 

All of the ingredients added and ready to bake...

 

 

...plus I added the optional beans since the LT is working out and wanting some extra protein lately.

 

 

The final product!

 

This meal was delicious, even to the LT who is a non-vegan, but heavily vegetarian (though in the spirit of full disclosure, not entirely).  Plus, even better when factoring our move and my back to school full time-ness, this dinner is CHEAP!  This will DEFINITELY become one of our staples.  The most expensive element was the “cheese” which was about $4 at WFM, and I only used about 1/3 – 1/2 of the package.  Plus we had enough leftover for lunch for both of us and an “after work snack” for the LT the following day.

 

Thank you Averie!  xoxox

 

 

Leave a Reply

