• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

Meatless Meatballs

Tonya's recipe is in here!

So I’ve started back to school full time to get my degree in nutrition and I seem to have a weird combination of too much/not enough time on my hands.  I haven’t been eating healthy at all, which I blame on not enough time.  However with the blizzard this week, I feel like I’ve had too much time; I just lounge around grazing on crap.  Blech!  Time to get back on track…(if I had a nickel for every time I thought or wrote that phrase!)

I began by being inspired by Tonya Zavasta’s Meatless Meatballs.  Her book, Beautiful on Raw, is an inspiring and motivating collection of raw transformations followed by a ton of recipes.  One of my favorite things about this book is that each recipe focuses on a different ingredient and then gives you some information about the health benefits of that particular ingredient.  I’ve never seen another raw book like it.  Click here to learn more or place an order.

My recipe is a slight variation of hers since I couldn’t find psyllium husk at WFM and I just plain didn’t have any sweet onion in the fridge.

Meagan’s Mock “Meatballs”

Right before going into the dehydrator for 6 hours!

1/2 c. flax seed, ground

2 strips of kelp, soaked for 10 mins

1/2 c. sun-dried tomatoes, soaked for 1 hour

1/2 c. walnuts

1/2 bell pepper, cut into small pieces

2 stalks celery, chopped

1/2 c.  ground pumpkin seeds

1/2 c. fresh chopped parsley

sea salt to taste

  1. Grind pumpkin seeds in a dry Vita Mix and pour into bowl.  Set aside.
  2. Grind flax seed in a coffee grinder or dry Vita Mix.
  3. Add kelp and sun-dried tomatoes to ground flax.  Blend well
  4. Add walnuts, bell pepper, and celery.  Puree and transfer to a bowl.
  5. Stir in ground pumpkin seeds, parsley, and salt.
  6. Mix well by hand and for into ball using a small ice cream or cookie dough scoop.
  7. Place “meatballs” on mesh dehydrator sheets and dehydrate at 105F for 6-8 hours.

Before mixing my "meatballs"

After scooping out the "meatballs"

Fresh out of the Dehydrator!

Yummy! Even the LT likes 'em!

 

Leave a Reply

