• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

Hearty Raw Salad and An Internship

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted.  Like you, during the Christmas season, I just get so busy…and lazy.  It’s dark when I wake up, dark when I leave work, and cold, cold, cold.  It doesn’t make me want to do anything productive with my evenings like go to the gym, write Christmas cards, or make a labor-intensive raw dinner.  But that lack of energy is exactly why I should be making raw dinners!

So I turned to my wonderful (stolen from my sister) Natalia Rose book for some inspiration and came away with the Daily Avocado Salad.  It’s a delicious and HEARTY salad for the cold winter evenings.  The amount of avocado is way more than I would normally eat, but the salad calls for 1-2 avocados.  I made one salad each for me and the LT using 2 smaller avocados and it was perfect.

My version was something like this:

Lots n’ lots of baby greens

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1 clove garlic diced

1/2 small zucchini, cut into rounds

1 small avocado, cut in chunks

pinch of salt

dash of pepper

balsamic vinegar to taste

Mix everything together and enjoy.  The avocado gives enough fat so that you only need the balsamic for dressing.  I think Natalia Rose’s recipe also called for 1-2 packets of Stevia to be mixed with the vinegar.  It sounds good, but I didn’t have any and I did not miss it.

Other News

Last week I finished up my first semester of going back to school to complete a LONG list of prerequisites.  I plan to go back full-time beginning in January.  My goal is to get my Master’s in Kinesiology, but with an undergrad in business, I’ve got a lot of science and math to take before I can even apply to the program.

Tomorrow I go in for my first day at a part-time internship with an awesome Registered Dietician (RD) who has her own practice on South Michigan Ave.  I’m really excited because she is so open to teaching and helping me understand the field of dietetics.  For a girl who loves nutrition and is just beginning to get involved in the field in a professional sense, I’m just tickled.  There are so many aspects of nutrition that you could make a career of, most of them I have no idea about!  So wish me luck as I begin this new leg of my raw food journey tomorrow.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

