• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

The Raw Mexican Lunch

Usually Sundays are for Mass, Starbucks, and Bears football, but today I decided to make some raw lunch for the LT and I to enjoy while the Bears beat the Bills. (fingers crossed!)  I used a recipe from Carol Alt’s The Raw 50.  It’s tagline is:10 Amazing Breakfasts, Lunches, Dinners, Snacks, and Drinks for your Raw Food Lifestyle.  I think this may have been one of the first “raw” books I ever purchased.

I made us the Guacamole Lettuce Burritos with Cashew Sour Cream.  The dish is just what is sounds like, but for the LT’s I also sautéed up some SmartGround Mexican Style veggie-protein grounds.  As he’s healing from an emergency glaucoma surgery, I am trying to ensure that we eat as healthy as possible.  However, I know my man “can’t” survive without some meat, so I am attempting to make his available food choices as yummy and “meaty” as possible, while maintaining plenty of raw and especially green in his diet.  I haven’t done the research I should on these crumbles, so if anyone knows any important info I should be aware of, please pass it along.

The recipe is basically your version of guac (including tomatoes, lemon juice, organic onion powder) wrapped in romaine “taco shells” with a dollop of Cashew Sour Cream on top.  It’s super-easy; took me about 20 mins to put it all together.  And it’s great for people who are not fully raw because the tastes are familiar.

Lunch! Raw Guacamole Burritos and Cashew Sour Cream

I really like Carol’s books and am planning on making her “Cheeze-Itz” tonight.  I’ll let you know how they turn out!  Her recipes have a good range from easy to intense.  Some are hers and some are from famous raw chefs/restaurants like Sarma of Pure Food and Wine, Penni Shelton of 105 Degrees Cafe, Dr. David Jubb, Dan Hoyt of Quintessence, and Melissa Davison of Terre Bella Cafe.

Leave a Reply

