• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

Skinny Bitch: Potato & Butternut Squash Curry

 

 

Last night our apartment was chilly when I got home after the gym (yes, I went!).  I was in the mood for something warm, cozy and filling…and not raw.  So, since I recently “borrowed” my sister’s book Skinny Bitch in the Kitch, and I’ve made Kim and Rory’s recipes before with excellent results, I turned to these awesome ladies once again.

 

Rory & Kim (and I think this picture was taken by Tim Van Orden!)

 

For those of you unfamiliar with Skinny Bitch, it is a series of books written by Kim Barnouin and Rory Freedman, an ex-model and ex-modeling agent.  As their tag line says, these books are for girls who want to “stop eating crap and start looking fabulous!”  The books are not totally raw food focused, but are vegan all the way.  Great books to remind you why you aren’t eating animals or animal products.  (See my post here)

The LT agreed, he was wanting something warm and cozy after a long day so I found their recipe for Potato and Pumpkin Curry.  I had been recently lamenting our lack of forays into Indian food so this seemed like a good one to try.  Not counting the 30 minutes of cooking rice, it only took me 20 minutes or so to prepare this feast!

 

 

Thanks, Ladies! This was delish!

 

The LT finished an entire bowl while I was washing my face and hands!


I don’t want to infringe on their copyrights, so I won’t post the recipe.  But it does have:

  • Butternut squash (my substitution as the LT doesn’t like pumpkin)
  • Potatoes
  • Tomatoes
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Turmeric
  • Ground Cloves
  • Cinnamon
  • Cumin
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Coconut oil
  • Fresh Cilantro for garnish

If you are into raw, vegan but sometimes find yourself craving lightly cooked vegan foods, pick this book up.

2 Responses

  1. AH HA! So you’re the culprit with the sticky fingers! love you! 🙂

  2. well, if you really want to be healthy, i believe that veggan foods are the best :””

Leave a Reply

