• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

Kind of Raw Strawberry Mousse

Q: What can beat a fresh strawberry in the summertime? A: Nothing!

“Doubtless God could have made a better berry, but doubtless God never did.” (Dr. William Butler, 17th Century English Writer)
This past Fourth of July weekend was a “Meet the Family” event when my mom, uncle, and sister came up to meet the LT’s family.  Honestly, I wasn’t very concerned, only a tad worried about the mass amounts of foods that Filipinos tend to bring to every gathering.  I thought my Irish-American mother was bad, but I’ve never seen anything like the LT’s mom!
Anyhow, I always try to slip something raw in there and though we had the traditional watermelon slices, tropical fruit plate, and some lightly steamed Ohio Sweet Corn (not really raw food, but dang good!), I wanted to try a new recipe.  Because Strack and Van Til had strawberries on sale this week, it had to incorporate the most delicious of berries and I found a wonderful recipe on the website that was my “portal” or introduction to raw foods Alan & Jean LeStourgeon’s EZ Healthy Diet.  Their recipes are ALWAYS good (a pretty big claim, I know…but it’s true!) so I wasn’t nervous about making this for the first time on such a big day.

Prep time was about 20 mins.  Ingredients were inexpensive aside from the pine nuts which I halved the amount.  And even my uncle, a professional chef who sometimes scoffs at my raw food tendencies, really enjoyed this mousse.  I also forgot to take a picture because I served them pretty much immediately, so I’m using one of Jean LeStourgeon’s. DISCLAIMER: Because this recipe calls for tofu, strict raw foodists may shy away.  In that case you can substitute coconut meat, coconut water, and a dash of raw coconut oil to get a similar texture.

Strawberry Mousse

EZ Healthy Diet Strawberry Mousse

Makes 3-4 servings

2 cups tofu ricotta
1 tablespoon honey
8 large, very ripe strawberries – chunked
2 extra strawberries for garnish
6-8 soaked almonds finely chopped

Place 2 cups tofu ricotta in food processor with S-blade, add honey and 8 strawberries. Puree until smooth. Pour mousse mixture into parfait glasses, garnish with extra strawberries and sprinkle with finely chopped almonds.

Serve your strawberry mousse recipe chilled. Enjoy!

Click here to visit recipe page.

Leave a Reply

