• Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

Here Piggy, Piggy!

This is a copy of a piece I wrote for the raw food company I work for.  I’ve gotten some great responses from our mailing group so I thought I’d post it here in the hopes that other vegans, vegetarians, and raw foodists can have a laugh and know that we are all in it together!

Whether you have called yourself vegetarian, vegan, or raw for 1 week, 1 month, or 10 years people look for you to be perfect.  Maybe not in your fashion choices or in your movie recommendations, but certainly when it comes to the food you put in your mouth.
This past weekend, I was stressed out due to a recent operation my fiance, The LT, underwent.  (Things are fine; he’s recovering nicely thanks to some green juicing!)  I went out to dinner Saturday night with some friends to celebrate a birthday.  I had a glass of wine and (gasp!) some bread.  Now I know that I am a raw foodie and my friends know that I am a raw foodie; and apparently everyone at the table knew it, too.  Immediately after I had finished my first slice of bread, one of the men I didn’t really know triumphantly asked me,
“I thought you were raw, Meagan.  Are you done with that now?  I mean, I just saw you eat some bread and that stuff is cooked.”
He thought this was a “GOTCHA” moment.  He thought he caught me “cheating.”
This is probably one of the most difficult problems I face as a girl into raw foods.  I’m certainly not perfect, meaning 100% raw, but I do try.  And compared to the average person, I eat a ton more uncooked foods.  However, once people label you as vegan or vegetarian or raw, they believe if you eat outside that label once, you’re no longer a “real” vegan or vegetarian or rawist.
I’m sure most of you have experienced this moment, too. I don’t mind it when there is intelligent conversation surrounding it, but when someone seems to relish my fall-from-raw, I bristle.  There’s an old saying about never getting into a mud fight with a pig. You’ll both get dirty, but the pig enjoys it.  And while pigs are intelligent, feeling animals, this guy was not.  So I just smiled, took a sip of wine and reached for another slice of bread, “I’m still raw.  I’m just on a 20 minute break.”
One Response

  1. Yeah, people can be snotty like that.

Leave a Reply

