• Twitter Updates

  • Recent Posts

  • Meagan’s Archives

  • Categories

The First Day of the Rest of My Life

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. I came home this morning from my Fortune 500 company job (I worked 3rd shift). I plopped down on my couch and thought about what a big life change I am making this year. Or maybe I should say life changes. Let me give you an idea.

Over the course of the last 12 months, I got out of the Army, moved from Texas to Chicago, became engaged, found a job in a new industry (food manufacturing), and now, have quit that job. I was working 3rd shift in the world’s largest bakery. Funny for a raw foodie, huh? I loved that whenever I got out of the car at work, it smelled like cookies and cakes. However, I didn’t like working 10 hours a day plus weekends. One weekend, about a month ago, I was in a training class that I got up for at 4am. As we began to learn about the new financial system the company was switching to, my mind began to drift. I started to think about what I really wanted to do with my time.

“Self,” I said, “If this training was about ____, I would be so excited to get up at 4am. Now what should I fill in that blank with?”

Because it was a computer-base training course, I began to tune out my trainers and check my emails. From there I turned towards my usual internet hangouts, Raw Foods Blogs. Then it struck me, that if this were a nutritional seminar, I would be super-excited! And then I was super-excited! I had my answer; I filled in the blank!

Two days later, a Meet-Up group I belonged to sent out an email inquiring if anyone in the group was looking for a job in a raw food business. On the off-chance, I sent in my resume. The next day I was interviewing and was offered the job on the spot. Honestly, I was terrified to take the leap. The world’s largest bakery has job security, nice benefits, and a big, fat paycheck. This new position was my ticket into the raw food world, but at a cost: no job security, no benefits, and barely a paycheck. Scary!

But after much debate and budget-izing with the World’s Greatest Fiance, I made the leap. That’s why today is the first day of the rest of my life. I am following a dream and opening a new chapter.

As I camped on the couch watching Oprah’s “Brilliantly Aging Women” episode trying to catch a glimpse of Karyn Calabrese, one of Chicago’s prominent raw food figures, I remembered back to the week I graduated from high school. That was another life change for me. And during that week, my Nana gave me a journal and told me to write in it every day, no matter how tired I was. She wanted me record those important events and how I was feeling so that I could look back and remember all the little things that time would otherwise change in my mind or cause me to forget. So that’s why I am starting this blog.

I take so much from the raw food community: information, inspiration, and recipes, I hope to give something back. I will be as honest as I can here 1) so that I remember this time in my life; and 2) so that other nutrition-minded friends can learn and (hopefully) laugh along this new journey with me.

And now I’m off to finish making some of Ani Phyo’s Donut Holes and finish watching Karyn Calabrese on Oprah!

Leave a Reply

